Fly away with the music

I have a theory about concerts and movies in general. If at any point during the show, the rest of the audience disappears from your mind, then the artist has done their job. If the artist was able to take control of your mind and take it on a journey, the show is a success. I had my first such experience recently at a concert. I attended the concert by pure chance. It was like the universe sent me there. It was a Sunday afternoon. I was returning home after watching the movie ‘Lights out’. It was a good one. I saw a poster showing event details of a classical music concert. Earlier in the morning I had searched the internet for events, concerts, etc. Nothing interesting had come up.  However, this poster caught my attention instantly as it showed details of a performance by a renowned artist on an instrument called the ‘Sarod’. It is a guitar-like instrument but sounds different. So I decided to go check it out. Long story short, it blew my mind. Everything around me disappeared during the show. I thoroughly enjoyed the music. It was extraordinary music that felt like it was from another world. It was like getting high! Unfortunately, there is no video for me to share here. The video I’ve posted above is of a different artist. I do not know much about her but have read that she is a talented upcoming artist.

After the show ended, people lined up to meet the Sarod player. As usual, they clicked photos with their hero. Some, went so far as to bow down and touch the artist’s feet. What bugged me is that he blessed his fans in return. That looked a little weird to me. I have never gone to meet the performers for any show. Maybe because I’m shy. But this time, I wanted to try it. I wanted to know how it would feel like to meet someone who made you very happy. I have heard people say that meeting your heroes isn’t always a good idea because they might not be the person who you thought they were. I shook his hand, thanked him for the show and told him that this was my first classical experience and that I am a rock music fan. He said he likes rock music too! However, he made a rant about how traditional music is ‘more important’. This slightly ruined the whole experience for me. Maye it is true what they say about meeting your heroes. Maybe it is a bad idea.

Leave a Reply

