Reality

Dream.jpgWarning: I have no scientific proof to back what I am about say. These are entirely my thoughts. I am also bad at writing(feel free to correct me) so good luck.

I used to think that reality(for me) is based on things I see around me, work, stuff that I have been taught at school and things that I have read about. I have been taught that I live on a planet that spins and revolves around a star at the same time. About 70 percent of the surface of this planet is covered by water. It also has a satellite revolving around it called the Moon. This planet, along with several others are suspended in space along with several other galaxies. It is said that there are more stars in the universe than all the grains of sand on all the beaches and deserts of Earth. This is the perfect setting for a fairytale. However, if you understand the science behind it, it will all make sense. Learning the science behind it is a humongous task for me. I have no plans of doing it either. Hence, I just let it be. I would love to talk about religion but I think it would be best to leave it out of this discussion.

I also know my family, friends(not many) and relatives(many). I have memories. In this so called “reality” that is made up entirely of life experiences, there are very few things that I think are truly real. I have to confess that I came to this realisation with the help of movies and science documentaries(but good ones and by good I mean reliable). I came to know that a mind can construct and deconstruct realities on its own regardless of what condition the body is in. For all I know, I could be in a coma right now and someone could be molesting me(That came from watching Kill Bill). I think  emotions are real. I feel happy, sad, angry, depressed(mostly), anxiety, etc. That’s about it. I cannot think of any more ‘real’ things. I would appreciate it if the reader could add more to this.

I have dreams in my sleep. When I dream, that particular dream is my reality. I have never had a ‘Lucid’ dream where I become aware that I am dreaming. However, my mom claims that she always dreams of my dad and she realises that she’s dreaming. There’s a line in the song Mad World by Gary Jules: The dreams in which I am dying are the best I’ve ever had. I feel the same way. When I die in a dream, I wake up. I come back to reality but to what reality I come back, I do not know because within the dream, I have no memories of an alternate reality. So I could be jumping from one dream to another and I do not know if the present is a dream or not. What if I never woke up? Would I continue to stay alive in my dream? For that to happen, my brain would have to continue to function. It is said that dreams can be detected by measuring the brain’s activity. This means that the brain plays some part in delivering the dream. I can sort of believe that. But what I don’t understand is the duration of an average dream. It is said that dreams do not last more than a few minutes in reality but a dream itself may feel like a lifetime. It reminds me of the movie ‘Contact’. What is even more interesting is that I remember parts of  dreams. So maybe its just the brain replaying past experiences.

Here’s where I go a little extreme: I get the ‘Trueman Show’ feeling sometimes. I get a  weird feeling that everyone around me(especially my boss) knows everything about me!

Leave a Reply

